Steven Haines

SPR Committee Chair

Steven Haines joined the Bar Standards Board as a Lay Member on 1 January 2017. Steven is currently the CEO of Lightspeed Broadband Ltd a new venture which provides broadband services in the East of England. He is also a strategic advisor to AtmosClear Investments  and Mathematico a new venture on on-line learning system for A level students.  

Prior to this he was Managing Director in BT Group Previous roles include Managing Director  in the new independent Openreach Executive, Managing Director for BT Group (Mobile), where he was responsible for transformation into a mobile business, and Chief Operating Officer/Managing Director BT Wholesale.

Steve is a highly accomplished senior executive and NED with over 20 years’ experience operating at board level in complex and challenging competitive markets and regulated organisations. A strategic thinker who demonstrates passion, collaboration and drive to deliver outstanding business growth. His inclusive and empathetic leadership style creates a culture of achievement through unity, trust, transparency and personal integrity.


Alison Allden OBE

Lay Member, The Bar Standards Board

Alison Allden OBE joined the Bar Standards Board as a Lay Member on 1 January 2017. Alison has a professional background in higher education, IT, culture and archaeology. She retired from the post of Chief Executive at The Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) in 2015. Previous senior posts include Deputy Registrar and Director of IS as a member of Bristol University's senior executive team and Director of IT at Warwick University.

Having retired in 2015, Alison maintains a portfolio of non-executive roles including being on the Boards Regent's University London Study Group UK and is an external member on the Cambridge University Information Services Committee. She is also a Trustee of the Gloucestershire County History Trust. She is also currently a Senior Advisor with Wells Advisory UK, a higher education consultancy and undertakes governance reviews with AdvanceHE.

She is a Fellow of the British Computer Society (FBCS), a member of the Institute of Field Archaeologists (MIFA) and a Member of the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (MCILIP).

Alison was awarded an OBE for Services to Higher Education in the 2016 New Year Honours. 

Irena Sabic

Barrister member

Irena Sabic was called to the Bar in October 2002. She is a member of Garden Court Chambers and an established public law practitioner with a particular expertise in immigration and asylum, community care, housing and planning law. In recent years Irena has focussed on the representation of vulnerable children and adults subject to immigration control. Irena is regularly invited to deliver lectures and seminars to solicitors, public bodies and NGOs. She is a Trustee and Board member of Trauma Treatment International.

Professor Leslie Thomas QC

Barrister Member, The Bar Standards Board

Leslie Thomas QC was appointed Queen's Counsel in 2014. A human rights practitioner, Leslie specialises in claims against the police, public authorities and corporate bodies. He is also a specialist in inquests and public inquiries. He is currently an independent member on the Standards Committee for public life for Lewisham Council. He is on the Council executive for the organisation JUSTICE. In 2016, Leslie won the Legal Aid Lawyers' (LALY) Award for work on the Hillsborough case and in 2017, he won the UK Legal Diversity Lifetime achievement award. In June 2020 he was appointed Gresham Professor of Law. He is a Visiting Professor at Goldsmith, University of London.  Leslie is also an attorney in Antigua and Barbuda with a Caribbean practice - JC Legal Solutions.

Kathryn Stone OBE

Lay Member, The Bar Standards Board

Kathryn Stone   OBE is Parliamentary Commissioner for Standards a post she has held from January 2018. Before that she held the post of Chief Legal Ombudsman for England and Wales.  She has also been  a Commissioner with the Independent Police Complaints Commission and at  Commission for Victims and Survivors in Northern Ireland.

Kathryn  is an advisor to an EU Peace Programme, Independent Adjudicator to the Rail Ombudsman  and  a school governor.

She is a Chartered Director, a Fellow of the Institute of Directors and was formerly a Registered Social Worker.  She was made OBE in 2007 and was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws by the University of Derby in 2018.