Steve Carter FCMA

Chair, Audit Committee

Steve studied Accountancy at what is now Solent University, Southampton and a Master’s degree in International Accountancy and Finance at Solent. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and the Association of Corporate Treasurers. He joined Unilever in 1975 as a trainee and spent most of his career as a Finance Director of major subsidiaries in the UK and overseas. In 2008 he joined Solent University as CFO then COO. Since 2017 he had undertaken a number of consulting and interim projects, is a chair of a pension fund and covers a number of other committees of professional bodies. 

Paul Stevenson

Vice Chair, Audit Committee

Paul joined the joint audit committee in April 2019 as vice chair. He qualified in 2008 following pupillage in central London chambers specialising in property and commercial law. He currently works in house as an employed barrister and as the deputy head of legal of a statutory corporation and major institutional investor (managing over £8bn of assets including a commercial, residential and rural property portfolio and strategic real estate worth over £2bn) and his work cuts across public and private law. 

In addition to his role on the joint audit committee, Paul acts as a trustee and non-executive director of a number of other charities and non-profits including the Collections Trust of which he is a member of the audit committee. He is a former vice chair of an academy trust and chaired the trust's finance and audit committee.

Alex Carr

Member nominated by the Chair of the Bar (practising barrister), Audit Committee

Alexandria was called to the Bar by Inner Temple in 1997.  She is a specialist in UK and EU financial services regulatory law.  Having worked in the Government Legal Department, in private practice and in house, she has considerable experience in negotiating, transposing, advising on and implementing financial services regulatory developments.   She is currently Deputy General Counsel and Head of European Regulatory Change at HSBC.

Alexandria has been a member of the Audit Committee since 2016.  She is also a BACFI Committee member, an ex officio member of the Bar Council and vice chair of the EU Law Committee. She believes strongly in “one bar” and seeks actively to integrate the employed and independent bar.

Jon Hayes

Independent Lay Member, Audit Committee

Jon is a chartered accountant whose 31 year executive career was largely spent at the Audit Commission. He acted as a statutory appointed auditor for 9 years and from 2012 to 2015 was part of the Commission's executive management team. Jon was also the first chief executive officer of Public Sector Audit Appointments Limited.

He is currently a trustee of a heritage centre and museum and sits on a number of other audit committees including at St John's Ambulance and the London Mayor's Office of Policing and Crime.

Nora Nanayakkara

Independent Lay Member, Audit Committee

Nora holds a number of independent governance roles, including Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee and Non Executive Director on the Board of the UK Statistics Authority (UKSA), which oversees the production and regulation of the UK’s official statistics system.

Nora’s executive career in the private sector culminated in the successful launch of a UK presence for an international digital tech start-up.  Having achieved an MBA, she then developed a portfolio of governance roles with her appointment as a Non Executive Director (NED) to the Board of Nominet. She was subsequently appointed by Nominet as Senior Independent Trustee and Chair of the Audit Committee to the board of its corporate social investment foundation.  She has also served as a NED and Audit Committee member on the Board of the UK trading fund, The IPO, which is responsible for the UK’s intellectual property rights.

As well as her cross sectoral non-executive portfolio and governance roles, Nora brings valuable experience of professional regulation through her role as a lay fitness to practice Chair at the General Dental Council (GDC), as a lay panellist at the General Osteopathic Council (GOsC) and the ACCA’s Regulation Board, where she also chairs the Appointments Board. Nora holds a Ministerial NED appointment in Ireland on the Board of the Digital Development Agency, which provides incubator space and support to international tech start-ups. She is also a member of the Pay Review Body on Doctors’ and Dentists’ Remuneration (DDRB).

Nicola Sawford

Lay Member, The Bar Standards Board

Nicola is a portfolio non-executive director with over 30 years of business experience. She is a qualified chartered accountant and her business experience has covered a wide variety of sectors including legal services, technology, telecommunications, retail, media, financial services, regulation, housing, property and charities.

In addition to her role at the BSB she is currently chair at Milton Keynes Development Partnership, chair at CHP Ltd, a trustee of The Access to Justice Foundation and a member of the Managing Partners Forum advisory board