John Beckerleg

Chair, Finance Committee

John is an experienced chief officer with more than 40 years public sector experience including a variety of central and local government bodies. He studied mathematics at Cambridge and qualified as an accountant (CIPFA) before gaining an MBA from Henley Management College and running his own consultancy for 15 years.

John has held a number of roles which have encompassed major organisational change, governance, corporate management, developing relationships and working in a political environment.  More recent experience has been with national improvement organisations, central government agencies and a national charity including its commercial companies. In addition, John undertakes voluntary work for a number of charitable bodies.

Malcolm Cree

CEO, Bar Council

Malcolm retired from the Royal Navy in 2016, in the rank of Rear Admiral. He served in all types of ship from Minehunters to Aircraft Carriers and commanded a Destroyer, a Task Group in the Gulf and the Navy’s prized Operational Sea Training organisation.  He deployed all over the world and served in the Gulf (Tanker War) and Adriatic (Bosnia).  

Ashore, he specialised in corporate governance, financial and resource planning, portfolio and programme management and ended his career managing a major transformation programme on behalf of the Navy Board.  

On retiring, Malcolm worked for a management consultancy specialising in Decision Analysis, before taking over as Chief Executive of the Bar Council in August 2017.  

Malcolm has a Bachelor’s degree in Modern History from Bristol University and a Masters in International Relations and Security from King’s College London.

He was made a CBE in the 2016 New Year’s Honours list.

Tom Phillips

Vice Chair

Tom is a chartered accountant having qualified with Ernst & Young and serving with them in London and The Hague.  On leaving the profession he gained experience with SeaLand, then part of the RJ Reynolds group and subsequently as finance director of Central Trailer International. More recently, he served both as finance director and then chief operating officer of the Tote prior to its sale by HM Government. Tom has a wealth of commercial and financial experience both domestically and internationally having negotiated major acquisitions, financing and debt restructuring packages and undertaken business disposals. Tom is a former member of the Institute of Turnaround and after stepping down from his permanent career, undertook a number of turnaround assignments on behalf of major banks. He is an experienced non executive director having served as audit chair on 3 NHS trust boards and for the UK language school subsidiary of the Migros Foundation in Zurich. At present, he is chair of RaceTech, an outside broadcast and technical services company servicing the horse racing industry. Tom is an experienced pension fund trustee having been chair of the Tote pension fund trustees and is currently chair of the RaceTech pension scheme.

Steven Haines

Lay Member, The Bar Standards Board

Steven Haines joined the Bar Standards Board as a Lay Member on 1 January 2017. Steven is currently the CEO of Lightspeed Broadband Ltd a new venture which provides broadband services in the East of England. He is also Company Director Light Fibre Holding Ltd and its subsidiaries, along with Mathematico a new venture on on-line learning system for A level students.

Prior to this he was Managing Director in BT Group Previous roles include Managing Director in the new independent Openreach Executive, Managing Director for BT Group (Mobile), where he was responsible for transformation into a mobile business, and Chief Operating Officer/Managing Director BT Wholesale.

Steve is a highly accomplished senior executive and NED with over 25 years’ experience operating at board level in complex and challenging competitive markets and regulated organisations. A strategic thinker who demonstrates passion, collaboration and drive to deliver outstanding business growth. His inclusive and empathetic leadership style creates a culture of achievement through unity, trust, transparency and personal integrity.

Nico Leslie

Finance Committee

Nico was called to the Bar in 2010 as a member of Lincoln’s Inn.  He was the Lincoln’s Inn student of the year for 2010 and joined Fountain Court Chambers in 2011, from which he has practised ever since, specialising in Art, Banking, Commercial, Fraud and Arbitration cases.  He was appointed to the Joint Finance Committee in 2018 and is a member of COMBAR.  Nico is the co-author (with Mr Justice Marcus Smith) of The Law of Assignment, now in its third edition, and a contributing editor to numerous other academic or practitioner texts.  He was appointed to the arbitrator panel of the international Court of Arbitration for Art, based in The Hague, in 2019.

Lorinda Long

Finance Committee

Lorinda Long is a qualified barrister with over 20 years’ experience in the Financial Services Sector.  She is a Managing Director and Associate General Counsel in the Equities Legal Department at Bank of America, heading up the Cash Equities and Regulatory legal team based in London, providing legal support to the various business lines in Cash Equities, certain Equities Capital Markets and International Banking activities, and other support functions.

Prior to joining Bank of America, Lorinda worked at a number of financial institutions e.g. NatWest Capital Markets, BNP Paribas, Credit Suisse and Barclays specialising in securitisation and debt capital markets. She spent several years as the General Counsel of the Treasury Division at HBOS with responsibility for managing and building a legal department of more than 30 people to provide legal support to the Treasury Division’s businesses globally.

Lorinda was previously Treasurer of the Bar Council from 2015 to 2019.

Andrew Mitchell QC

Vice Chair, The Bar Standards Board

Andrew Mitchell QC was called to the Bar in 1992 and took silk in 2011. He specialises in commercial and civil litigation and arbitration. His practice is predominantly in the fields of banking, financial services, professional negligence, professional and financial regulation, and (re)insurance law, with a significant international element. He is a member of the Commercial Bar Association (COMBAR), and also an accredited Mediator. He is a member of Fountain Court Chambers, and was formerly an experienced member of the Professional Conduct Committee of the Bar Standards Board, on which he sat from 2010.

Mark Neale

Director General, Bar Standards Board

Mark Neale has had a long career of public service. From 2010, he led the Financial Services Compensation Scheme for nine years, transforming its capability in the wake of the financial crisis to protect consumers in the event of major failures, and putting many of its services online. Before the FSCS, Mark was a civil servant in both policy and delivery roles. This culminated in Director General roles in both The Home Office where he was responsible for counter-terrorism, organised crime and international work from 2002 to 2005, and in HM Treasury where he was the Managing Director for Budget, Tax and Welfare between 2005 and 2010. Mark has also worked as a civil servant on education, employment and welfare issues.

Declarations of interest:

The Lending Standards Board – Non Executive Director

Froebel Trust –  Chair