22 September 2019

New Board members for the BSB

We have announced the appointment of three new lay Board members.

The new Board members are:

  • Alison Allden OBE;
  • Steven Haines; and
  • Zoe McLeod.

Our Board is made up of 15 people: seven barristers, seven lay members and a lay Chair. The new appointments fill imminent vacancies, and help us to ensure that our Board maintains the range of skills, experience and perspectives that it needs to undertake its independent public interest regulation. Information about current Board members is available on our website.

Chair of the BSB, Sir Andrew Burns said: "These three new appointments will add fresh insight and experience to the existing Board. I look forward to forming a happy and productive working relationship with them in the coming years. I would also like to thank the outgoing members Dr Malcolm Cohen, Mr Tim Robinson and Professor Andrew Sanders for the invaluable advice and support which they have offered to the Board during their years of service."

The incoming Board members were selected from a wide field of strong candidates by an independent panel, chaired by Mr Stephen Redmond.

Speaking about the appointments, Mr Redmond said: "The panel interviewed a variety of experienced and high-calibre candidates in a competitive and fair selection process. We are delighted that Alison, Steven and Zoe will be joining the Board."

Ms Allden OBE, Mr Haines and Ms McLeod will take up their appointments from 1 January 2017, with Dr Cohen, Mr Robinson and Prof Sanders leaving the Board on 31 December 2016.